The city.

11041800_649553678505844_6390756220393465194_n
So many faces I encounter
So many faces I see…
Some get lost within serpentine tracks,
some I carry back with me.

In those faces
I see the mocking city,
wrinkled lines of defeat,
wounds from everyday battles
that we try so hard to hide,
within forced smiles
& empty conversations.

In those eyes
I see maps of worry,
rivers of deceit,
lonely desolated
islands,
longing to belong,
hope ~ trying to swim
against the ruthless tide,
trying to stay afloat, alive…

In those faces
I see less of them
and more of me…
So many faces I encounter
that resemble me.

3 thoughts on “The city.

  1. Its a delight to embrace your heart and soul so alive in your words! It perfectly blends with the photograph…and the golden glow reminds me of the poet I know, for that is the radiance of love God placed within you to share with us! Truly beautiful! God bless you and your family!

Leave a Reply

