Am I Listening??

When I ask you to listen to me

And you start giving advice,

You have not done what I have asked.

When I ask you to listen to me

And you begin to tell me why I should not feel that way ,

You are cancelling out my feelings.

When I ask you to listen to me

And you are compelled to do something to solve my problem,

You have failed me; strange as that may seem.

Listen! All I asked is that you listen

Not talk, or do ;

Just hear me.

And I can do for myself. I am not helpless.

May be discouraged and faltering,

Maybe lonely and isolated and grieving and searching,

But not helpless.

When you do something for me that I can and need to do for myself,

You contribute to my fear and to my weakness.

But when you accept as a simple fact that I feel what I feel,

no matter how irrational , then I can stop trying to convince you

and get about the business of understanding

what’s behind this irrational feeling.

So please listen and just hear me,

If you want to talk

Wait a minute for your turn

And I will listen to you.

One thought on “Am I Listening??

  1. Sometimes we feel like no one is listening or understand us, but it doesn’t mean they don’t care. But sharing helps. Say it to anyone who will atleast listen. Say it aloud, say it all. .

Leave a Reply

