My World

Who am I and what is my belief system? Do I represent different world ? Am I different from the Western world and people here ? These are some of primary thoughts occupying my head-space these days. After a labyrinth-like tussle, I realized that there are two worlds, My World and The world. And its always a clash of My world and The world. ‘My world’ is emotional, personal, based on my perceptions, thoughts, feelings and dreams. It is the manifestation of the belief system that I am grown up with. It’s the myth that I have lived in, whereas ‘The world’ is objective, logical, binary, scientific.

‘The world’ guides me towards perfection, and to achieve perfection it tells me to be planned, organized, focused and it appears to guide me on ‘the journey’ through the wilderness to ‘the promised land’. But then, it clashes with ‘My world’ because the society which shaped my perception doesn’t have ‘the promise land’ but there are ‘many promised lands’ depending on the context. So, I grew up in a society where every thing is controlled by God, we are mere puppets in the hand of God, where we have to go through many ups and downs in life and nothing is absolute but relative, everything is ok sort of … and things are done ‘mostly’ and we can get things done by bending or breaking the rules.

My elders told me that God is an accountant who is keeping account of my performance in this life, he is note-keeper and when I will die, my next life will be decided based on the formula [ good deed – bad deed devided by Infinity]. So no matter what I do the effect of my performance in my life would be a big ZERO on the society. I lived my life so far by this belief system, hence I was unsure, unplanned and it was always relative.

Living in the western society challenges this belief system, because I come across a way of life which promote planning, an obsession with binary logic, things can be only right or wrong, it has linear pattern in design such as a vacation is planned year ahead, guests are welcomed only if they had an appointment in calendar, there is no fuzzy logic and relative truth.

I started struggling with the questions like which way is better this way or that way and by the very nature of it, the question is really complex, because a binary answer will lead to conflicts and fundamentalism. I decided to see things in greater light. I need to choose my paradigm depending on context and situations, because both worlds and cultures are human creations and humans are not perfect.

Compassion is a marvel of human nature, a precious inner resource, and the foundation of our well-being and the harmony of our societies. If we seek happiness for ourselves, we should practice compassion: and if we seek happiness for others, we should also practice compassion.”

Dalai Lama

2 thoughts on “My World

Leave a Reply

